The Books

This page lists Terry Pratchett’s books, with links to their corresponding episodes of Pratchat, where one has been released. (See the Episodes page for a list of Pratchat episodes in release order.)


The Novels

  1. The Colour of Magic (1983) – discussed in episode 14, City-State Lampoon’s Disc-wide Vacation (December 2018) with guest Joel Martin.
  2. The Light Fantastic (1986)
  3. Equal Rites (1987)
  4. Mort (1987) – discussed in episode 2, Murdering a Curry (December 2017) with guest Stephanie Convery.
  5. Sourcery (1988) – discussed in episode 3, You’re a Wizzard, Rincewind (January 2018), with guest Cal Wilson.
  6. Wyrd Sisters (1988) – discussed in episode 4, Enter Three Wytches (February 2018), with guest Elly Squire (aka Clara Cupcakes).
  7. Pyramids (1989) – discussed in episode 5, Ten Points to Viper House (March 2018), with guest Richard McKenzie.
  8. Guards! Guards! (1989) – discussed in episode 7A, The Curious Incident of the Dragon and the Night Watch (June 2018), with guest Aimee Nichols.
  9. Eric (1990) – discussed in episode 7, All the Fingle Ladies (May 2018), with guest Georgina Chadderton (aka George Rex).
  10. Moving Pictures (1990) – discussed in episode 10, We’re Gonna Need a Bigger Broomstick (August 2018), with guest Dan Golding.
  11. Reaper Man (1991) – discussed in episode 11, At Bill’s Door (September 2018), with guest Sarah Pearson.
  12. Witches Abroad (1991) – discussed in episode 12, Brooms, Boats and Pumpkinmobiles (October 2018), with guest Jackie Tang.
  13. Small Gods (1992) – discussed in episode 16, He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Vorbis (February 2019), with guest Avril Hannah-Jones.
  14. Lords and Ladies (1992) – discussed in episode 17, Midsummer (Elf) Murders (March 2019), with guest Nadia Bailey.
  15. Men at Arms (1993) – discussed in episode 1, Boots Theory (November 2017), with guest Cal Wilson.
  16. Soul Music (1994) – discussed in episode 19, It Don’t Mean a Thing if it Ain’t Got Rocks In (May 2019), with guest Fury.
  17. Interesting Times (1994) – discussed in episode 21, Memoirs of Agatea (July 2019), with guest David Ryding.
  18. Maskerade (1994) – discussed in episode 23, The Music of the Nitt (September 2019), with guest Myf Coghill.
  19. Feet of Clay (1996)
  20. Hogfather (1996)
  21. Jingo (1997)
  22. The Last Continent (1998)
  23. Carpe Jugulum (1998)
  24. The Fifth Elephant (1999)
  25. The Truth (2000)
  26. Thief of Time (2001)
  27. The Last Hero (2001)
  28. The Amazing Maurice And His Educated Rodents (2001)
  29. Night Watch (2002)
  30. The Wee Free Men (2003; illustrated edition 2008)
  31. Monstrous Regiment (2003)
  32. A Hat Full of Sky (2004)
  33. Going Postal (2004)
  34. Thud! (2005)
  35. Wintersmith (2006)
  36. Making Money (2007)
  37. Unseen Academicals (2009)
  38. I Shall Wear Midnight (2010)
  39. Snuff (2011)
  40. Raising Steam (2013)
  41. The Shepherd’s Crown (2015)

Other Discworld books

These books use stories from the Discworld to examine our own world, dubbed “Roundworld” in The Science of Discworld. Rincewind and the wizards of Unseen University feature prominently in fiction chapters of the Science books, which alternate with non-fiction chapters by Stewart and Cohen. The Folklore book does not contain any new fiction.

  • The Science of Discworld (with Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen; 1999)
  • The Science of Discworld II – The Globe (with Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen; 2002)
  • The Science of Discworld III – Darwin’s Watch (with Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen; 2005)
  • The Science of Discworld IV – Judgement Day (with Ian Stewart and Jack Cohen; 2013)
  • The Folklore of Discworld (with Jacqueline Simpson; 2008, updated in 2009 and 2014)

The following books are (mostly) “in-universe”; books that have either been published somewhere on the Discworld, or are presented as if they have been (even where that seems very unlikely). These include Where’s My Cow? and The World of Poo, children’s books which first appeared in the novels Thud! and Snuff respectively, and Mrs Bradshaw’s Handbook, which (along with Mrs Bradshaw herself) appears in Raising Steam.

  • Nanny Ogg’s Cookbook (with Stephen Briggs and Tina Hannan; 1999)
  • Where’s My Cow? (2005)
  • World of Poo (2012)
  • Mrs Bradshaw’s Handbook (2014)

Once the books had fleshed out the world enough, there were several maps (or “mapps”) and map books published detailing Disc geography. They all contain additional information about the locations depicted, in an in-universe style.

  • The Streets of Ankh-Morpork (with Stephen Briggs; 1993)
  • The Discworld Mapp (with Stephen Briggs; 1995)
  • A Tourist’s Guide to Lancre (with Stephen Briggs; 1998)
  • Death’s Domain: A Discworld Mapp (1999)
  • The Compleat Ankh-Morpork (via the Discworld Emporium; 2012)
  • The Compleat Discworld Atlas (via the Discworld Emporium; 2015)

There are also several short stories set on the Discworld; most of them appear in A Blink of the Screen (see below).

Non-Discworld books

Early Novels and Stories

The stories featured in the collections below include early but recognisable versions of The Carpet People and Truckers! (Most were written under a pseudonym for his local newspaper, the Bucks Free Press, when Pratchett was 17!)

  • The Carpet People (1971; revised and republished in 1993)
  • The Dark Side of the Sun (1976)  – discussed in episode 18, Sundog Gazillionaire (April 2019), with guest Will Kostakis.
  • Strata (1981)
  • Dragons at Crumbling Castle (collected early children’s stories; 2014)
  • The Witch’s Vacuum Cleaner (collected early children’s stories; 2016)
  • Father Christmas’s Fake Beard (collected early children’s stories; 2017)

The Bromeliad

A personal favourite of Ben’s, this trilogy tells the story of the Nomes, tiny people trying to live outside the notice of humans while finding their way home. The series is also known as “The Book of the Nomes”.

  1. Truckers (1989) – discussed in episode 9, Upscalator to Heaven (July 2018), with guest Amie Kaufman.
  2. Diggers (1990) – discussed in episode 13, Don’t Quarry Be Happy (November 2018), with guest Marlee Jane Ward.
  3. Wings (1990) – discussed in episode 20, The Thing Beneath My Wings (June 2019), with guest Dr Lili Wilkinson.

Johnny Maxwell

  1. Only You can Save Mankind (1992)
  2. Johnny and the Dead (1993)
  3. Johnny and the Bomb (1996)

The Long Earth

  1. The Long Earth (with Stephen Baxter; 2012)
  2. The Long War (with Stephen Baxter; 2013)
  3. The Long Mars (with Stephen Baxter; 2014)
  4. The Long Utopia (with Stephen Baxter; 2015)
  5. The Long Cosmos (with Stephen Baxter; 2016)

Other Books

  • The Unadulterated Cat (with Gray Joliffe; 1989) – discussed in episode 22, The Cat in the Prat (August 2019), with guest Asimov.
  • Good Omens (with Neil Gaiman, 1990) – discussed in episode 15, It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And We Feel Nice and Accurate) (January 2019), with guests Jennifer Beckett and Amy Gray.
  • Once More* *with footnotes (collected short fiction; 2004)
  • Nation (2008)
  • Dodger (2012) – discussed in episode 6, A Load of Old Tosh (April 2018), with guest David Astle.
  • A Blink of the Screen (collected short fiction; 2012)
  • Dodger’s Guide to London (companion book to Dodger; 2013) – discussed (briefly) in episode 6, A Load of Old Tosh (April 2018), with guest David Astle.
  • A Slip of the Keyboard (collected non-fiction; 2014)
  • Shaking Hands With Death (non-fiction essay; 2015)